Drama is tiptoing into my classroom!

I’ve been away for so long! Sorry, but I’ve been very busy with some personal issues and now, trying to come back to the blogosphere! As I’ve told you in my previous post , this year, I’m also devoting some time to literature in my classes. I have even started a project: “Myths, Legends and Folktales from Around the World”, which is going great.

In that project, as you can imagine, we are reading stories from different parts of the world. When the time came for England, what legend do you imagine I’ve shared with them? Yeah, :

King Arthur's Legend of course!

I always try to present the stories in different ways. And by this time of the year, I was already running out of ideas. At that moment, I remembered something I hadn’t tried much in my classes, but I love: DRAMA! This story was perfect for it, because it is full of actions. There was the answer then. Answer and movement were the keys.

I wrote the story in a simplified way and divided my students in 4 groups. You can read my simplified  story version here. I gave each group one part of the story and asked them to perform it to the rest of class. They would just have to concentrate on the actions, as I was going to read the story while they perform. It was a wonderful experience, as students really had to work hard on understanding the story. Furthermore, by moving and doing the actions they internalised lots of verbs and vocabulary. It became memorable to them.

When we finished the activity, they were so excited and eager to keep on working with the story, that I’m planning to ask them to write short dialogues in order to write a mini-play. I’ll soon share with you their productions. What do you think? Are they going to be interested in it? Do you have any other ideas or suggestions on how I can continue working with this story? Looking forward to your comments. I’ve missed you so much!

Posted on June 16, 2011, in Lesson Plans and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Glad I saw the tweet about your post. And your classroom experience sounds great, Sabrina.

    I too have really enjoyed the “drama” direction in class. It allows for students to step into “other shoes” and really own the language in a different way.

    Cheers, brad

  2. Hi Brad! Thanks for passing by and leaving your comment. I’m very happy to be back! I’ve missed you all! See you in twitter then!

  3. Hi Sabrina,

    Lİke you, I’ve been incorporating more drama into my lessons this year and I’ve really enjoyed it. I did something similar to you when preparing my students for the Wizard of Oz show. Some children were concentrating so hard on getting the words exactly right that they forgot to act! My solution was to read a synopsis of each scene and have them act, move, display body language etc but without speaking. That really helped them get into character.

    One thing you could allow your students to do is to include some modern references in the story – if King Arthur is checking Facebook during a Round Table meeting or an absent knight ‘Skypes in’, the enjoy it more and start to come up with all sorts of wonderful ideas.🙂

    Dave

  4. Hi Dave! Thanks for passing by. Yeah, I remember your posts about the Wizard of OZ. I hope it’s been a nice experience. How did the final performance go? I’m sure it must have been wonderful!
    Thanks for the tip. I think it would be a great idea to include some asynchronous elements. I’ll keep you posted about the results.
    Kisses,

  5. Hi Sabrina, I always think the sign of good lesson is when the learners want to continue with it in some way in following lessons. Seem like you’ve hit the jackpot! As you say, movement really helps with learning. Doing mimes for actions, and adjectives and verbs too, in the end, you can go through a whole story without saying a word and the whole meaning is conveyed. The learners fill in the language for you. Great that you’re back, no need to apologise!

  6. HI David! Thanks for passing by. Yeah, movement, drama, art, are always a great help with learning and internalising a new language. I’m glad to be back. My students have already created their dialogues so I’ll soon be publishing them. Kisses and hugs from freezing Bs. As.!

  1. Pingback: efl-resource.com » ELT news feed » Drama through story-telling

  2. Pingback: Drama through story-telling | efl-resource.com

Leave a Reply

