Re-Evaluate Value… by Using Rubrics? Part 2

In this post, I have expressed my desire of changing the way in which I was going to evaluate my students this year;  especially the mark I have to give them regarding the attitudinal aspect (nota de concepto). I believe that most of the time, this mark becomes quite subjective, as we don’t have clear evidence of why we are giving the students that mark. Apart from that, students don’t know exactly what is comprised in that mark, and therefore, they don’t know exactly what is expected from them or what they can do to improve this mark the following term. For that reason, this mark is a bit unfair sometimes, or at least, they may feel it to be so if the teacher doesn’t take the trouble of telling them why they got that mark. Trying to overcome this issue, I’m planning to give rubrics a try this year ( you may get more information about them here )

I’ve made a draft of a rubric to assess attitude in class here. I would love to know your opinions about it and ways in which I can improve it or ideas to tackle this problem in another way. Looking forward to your comments. Thanks in advance.

Posted on February 13, 2011, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl, Reflexiones sobre educacion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great Blog Sabrina – I came across it when you twittered it out. I commend you for thinking and rethinking ways to evaluate your students. I did not open the pdf attached, I do suggest you embed a doc directly in your blog) so I – and others can give feedback about the rubric. I do know that whether it is a checklist or rubric, or anecdotal notes – the subjective aspect will never go away and we still put boundaries around how we expect our kids to behave. I, myself am still not sure about why we do this.
    From your blog, it appears as if you are a very caring and passionate teacher. Your students are very fortunate.

    • Hi Zoe,
      Thanks for passing by and for your nice words. I don’t know how to embed a doc directly. Could you tell me? I would love to get the feedback from you…
      Let’s keep on learning together.
      Kisses and hugs from Argentina

  2. I applaud your search for clear lines by which to evaluate your students. This makes it easier and clearer for both you and them.

    I think the ‘under’ ‘average’ and ‘above’ categories are good general guidelines and you’ve described them well. I’ve RTed thanks to @hoprea and i hope others will enjoy your poimts as i have. Cheers

    • Hi Brad! Thanks for taking the time to have a look at the rubric. I really appreciate your opinion and thoughts. I love having you as part of my PLN. Let’s continue learning collaboratively.
      Kisses and hugs from your loved country… yeah Argentina.

  3. I thought it was a great rubric. In our schools though, we can not grade behavior. If I used this in my classroom, I might label it “Self Monitoring Rubric) but I think it would be very useful in the classroom.

    • Hi Pat! Thanks for passing by. In my school we are forced to mark them on this aspect. Of course, it has its pros and cons. What do you think? Would you like to mark your students on this aspect?
      Yeah, after reading @seburnt comment on Re-Evaluate Value… by Using Rubrics? Part 1, I started thinking about using this rubric also for students’ self-assessment. And at the end of the term have an individual interview with each of them to agree on the final mark based on the rubric. What do you think? Would it be useful to make them improve on this area?
      Looking forward to your reflections as I trully appreciate them and learn a lot from you.
      Kisses and hugs for you too!

  4. Florencia Bustos

    Considero necesaria la reflexión por parte de los docentes sobre las formas de evaluar teniendo en cuenta CÓMO y PARA QUÉ.
    La matriz posibilita una evaluación más “cualitativa”, ya que permite a los estudiantes conocer sus puntos fuertes y débiles, pero tampoco deja de ser subjetiva. Evaluar significa emitir un juicio de valor, por lo tanto la subjetividad es intrínseca al hecho.
    Aún siendo subjetiva creo que es un muy buen instrumento de evaluación, más justo y sobre todo más útil para lo estudiantes.
    Te felicito por el post!,

  5. Gracias flor por tomarte el tiempo de pasar por aqui. Asi es, la evaluacion nunca deja de ser objetiva. Quizas utilizar la rubrica para una autoevaluacion por parte de los alumnos, que luego sea consensuada con el docente, nos acerce un poco más, a una evaluacion mas justa y objetiva.
    Besos desde acá a solo unas cuadras jajaja. Love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

