I ♥ Collaborative Learning

This post is in answer to the 30 goals challenge for educators. You can see my answer to the previous goal here.

“The important thing is not so much that every child should be taught, as that every child should be given the wish to learn. ”

by John Lubbock

A lot can be said, and has been said in answer to this goal, about learning. However, I’m going to focus on my favourite way of learning: COLLABORATIVE LEARNING. I love learning WITH and FROM others. If alone we can get to do a simple and easy project, by being with others, we can always go a step further. I have learnt a lot by sharing ideas with others, face to face and online. I have always perfected my own creations by exchanging ideas with colleagues. I’m always refreshed and full of new ideas after a short trip over the blogsphere and twitter.

Being part of this online community of educators has made me realise how important it is the presence of others, who are undergoing the same learning journey, in order to motivate us and push us forward. Of course, we can learn on our own. However, by interacting and exchanging information with others, we can achieve a lot more and the trip becomes more fun.  @saandreoli shows us in this diagram in her blog how our learning experience is enriched by the interaction with others:

by @saandreoli

In what ways can this be reflected in our classrooms? I believe that by making students aware of the convenience of collaborating and sharing with each other. Some of them, do that naturally. Some others, need a gentle push. That’s where teachers come into scene.

What do you think? What are your believes about learning? How can we encourage it in our classrooms?


Posted on February 3, 2011, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl, Reflexiones sobre educacion, web 20 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Shelly Sanchez Terrell

    Hi Sabrina!

    I really like your diagram and collaborative learning! I definitely agree that learning from and with others is extremely powerful. That is why I love my Passionate/Personal Learning Network because I learn collaboratively with some of the most incredible people in our profession including you. I’m adding collaborative to my bullet list🙂

  2. Hi Shelly! Thanks for passing by. You are one of my most precious member of my PLN. Thanks for all your hard work and inspiration.

  3. Sabrina: Thanks for the fine video. For a while I thought I was looking at and listening to Shelly Terrell. Keep up the good work.

  4. Hi Douglas! You were not dreaming it was her in flesh and bones!

  1. Pingback: Welcome in! Wikis vs. blogs « Sabrina’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

