Virtual Beams

This post is in answer to the 30 goals challenge for educators. I’ll try to participate as much as I can.

The first goal presented by @shellterrell in the following video is: BE A BEAM.

The academic year has not started here in Argentina yet. For that reason, it is a bit difficult for me to achieve this goal. However, I’ve managed to do so, as I have a very close friend who is a teacher too. She has been through a kind of crisis with her career as a teacher. Fortunately, today I was able to listen to her and to make her look at the situation on the bright side. We always talk about our profession and support each other during the hard times. We’ve been friends since we were 6 years old, so she is very special to me.

This has made me reflect about the importance of having peers, who are going through the same situations and difficulties, to suppport and encourage each other. That is to say, that become beams to each other.

I have been very lucky to have found a lot of support, help and inspiration from my PLN. For that reason, I would like to take this opportunity to thank them all, for having always been there.  As Julie Cunningham wrote in her own post for the challenge:

I feel like everytime I dive into the world of Twitter or my Google Reader feed that I’ve been ‘beamed up’.  Educators around the world show a wealth of exciting things happening.  And just like returning from a  trip to the Bahamas or even just a “Calgon-take-me-away” bubble bath, I return to my daily life refreshed and renewed.

My PLN and my virtual teacher friends have become so valuable in my professional life, that I believe, it is extremely important to transmit this experience to other educators who are not here yet. I would make this my long term goal, and I would like to invite you all to follow my example. I’m sure: THE MORE; THE MERRIER.

Posted on February 1, 2011, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl, web 20 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Shelly Sanchez Terrell

    Sabrina!

    As I’m going through the different posts I see you there and also quoting others. You are truly the epitomy of being a “virtual beam” and I appreciate your enthusiasm and bravery in jumping in!

  2. I can absolutely relate to that sensation of feeling refreshed… Enthusiasm is so contagious… and there is definitely plenty of that in the Twitter world

  1. Pingback: Re-Evaluate Value… by Using Rubrics? Part 1 « Sabrina’s Weblog

Leave a comment