Heeeeeeeeeeelp!

We have finally got to Dogme Challenge Nº 10 , and Karenne has invited us to ask questions. I will grab at this opportunity, as I’ve been having this question at the back of my mind since I read about dogme for the first time. So please, my wonderful, supportive and encouraging PLN can you help me in this one?

PLEASE!!!!!

I have been thinking a lot about dogme recently, and it comes natural to me when I have to “teach” writing or speaking, but what about as regards reading and listening? I don’t have any clue as how to go about these skills doegmecly. Could you write some tips about this? What do you do in your classes?

Posted on December 10, 2010, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Are you working from a set of specific standards for reading and listening? Do you know how to break the standards into content and skills and design assessments around them?

    In the US, there is a new set of National Standards called the Common Core, you could have a look at those here: http://corestandards.org/the-standards/english-language-arts-standards

    There are sections on Foundational Skills for reading that might be of help.

    -Mike

    • Thank you very much Jason. I was sure you would help me and provide me with very insightuful ideas. I’ll think over them and try to start applying them next year. Holidays are around the corner here in Argentina.
      Kisses and hugs.
      Sabrina

    • Aaargh, that’s so lovely! (I mean Jason’s response)… hmmm… reading, well see – there’s dogme2.0 where the students write blog posts and dogme 1.0 where the students write essays on paper (oh… there’s almost an entire series on getting students to write things for each other to read.

      And listening, my approach generally tends to be on finding short authentic texts (videos often) that relate to a conversation or something they like talking about and getting them to agree or disagree with what they’ve heard but don’t forget they also listen to each other when they’re talking.

      And when it comes to both reading and listening once they are used to working autonomously I encourage them to find new TED videos to bring, Blog posts from blogs in their fields/interests…

      Hope that helps!

      K

  2. Hi Sabrina,

    One thing I’ve done similar to one of Jason’s suggestions is to create a text based on my students’ writing. I’ve actually used this as an error correction exercise incorporating their own geuniune mistakes but, as Jason wrote in his post, they do have to read the text to find and correct the errors! (I wrote a blog post on a lesson like thgis I did recently if you want more details: http://david-dodgson.blogspot.com/2010/10/writing-lesson-cont-tailor-made-error.html )

    I have also recorded students and other teachers talking for playback in class. They especially enjoy video recordings like this. Being in the recording really motivates them and seeing their classmates on screen really motivates them to listen!

    • Hi Karenne and David,
      Thanks for your contribution. I’m starting to picture it and more important starting to realise that I do some of those things already, though, I must admit I’m a bit of a traditinalist (to call it some way) when it comes to reading and listening. Maybe, I should start relaxing a bit and let things flow ( my students would know what to do with texts and audios =))

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Heeeeeeeeeeelp! « Sabrina’s Weblog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

