Glogster- Poster Yourself

I have just learned about Glogster thanks to a tweet by @jenverschoor (thanks a lot Jen!). With this application you can create an online poster. You can mix graphics, photos, videos, music and text into slick Glogs.

The great thing is that now there is an edu-glosgter page. You are allowed to create up to 200 students accounts for free. If you are wondering why bothering to use Glogster, in their webpage they provide you with some reasons:

  1. A fun, imaginative, and powerful learning experience which fosters independent creative self expression, positive learner-teacher relationships, and teamwork on collaborative class projects.
  2. A vibrant, multi-sensory learning experience which integrates learner’s knowledge and skills into traditionally text-oriented subjects and motivates learner’s desire to explore topics in which they may previously have been less interested.

I think it is worth giving it a try. If you do, please share with us your experience. Maybe, we can also share ideas on how we can use it in our classes. Looking forward to your comments.

Posted on October 15, 2009, in Resources for tesl/tefl, web 20 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Sabrina!
    I’m so happy to visit your blog and feel like I’m really visiting with a colleague.!
    I haven’t done a lot of work with Glogster yet, but I did experiment with putting a syllabus on it. Of course, I supplemented the syllabus with a “real” document to meet the college’s requirements, but I used the Glogster version as a sort of electronic “cover letter.” That way I not only introduced the subject matter to the students, but also the fact that we would be experimenting with technology throughout the semester. Here’s what it looked like:
    http://ritasimsan2000.glogster.com/ESL-791-OC-/
    Sabrina, I look forward to visiting your blog more frequently and to sharing more thoughts and ideas with you.
    Have a great weekend!
    Rita

    • Rita! It’s a pleasure to have you around. Feel free to come whenever you feel like it. The doors are always open for nice colleagues and friends like you. I’m very happy for being in contact with you. It’s great learning from each other. I loved the idea of the glogster syllabus. Thanks for sharing. See you in twitter!
      Kisses,
      Sabrina

  2. Hello Sabrina,
    I’m an English teacher from Croatia, very keen on everything web 2.0.
    My students love glogster and we invite you to join our Greetings from the world project. Students create posters about their country and tell the world about it.
    http://greetingsfromtheworld.wikispaces.com/
    You can find me on twitter too: @abfromz
    All the best
    Arjana

    • Hi Arjana,
      Nice to meet you. Thanks for your nice comment and invitation. I’d love to participate in your project. Here in Argentina we are finishing the school year. Summer holidays are just around the corner but I’ll do my best to take part in the project. I love the idea. I’m already following you in twitter I’m @sabridv.
      Kisses and let’s keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

