The Lazy Way to Planning Lessons with Films ( Part 2)

imagesI have already posted about the advantages of teaching with films in this post. However, all the pages I have found in that occasion were commercial ones. FIRST PAY and then get the lesson plan. Fortunately, yesterday I  read a twit about two wonderful blogs with loads of lesson plans based on films. And what is more: they are free. I love this initiatives of collaborative learning in which we all get a benefit.

Well, let’s go to the point. The two blogs were created by Claudio Azevedo.  He introduces himself in his blog saying “I’m a teacher at Casa Thomas Jefferson, Brasilia, Brazil. I’m a Branch Coordinator and Teacher Trainer as well. I really like movies and seeing them with “different” eyes, trying to see how I can use them in my classroom.” Apart from that, he discusses the advantages of teaching English with films in this post.  What I like the most about his blogs is that he doesn’t only share the lesson plans, but he also gives tips on how to create our own lesson plans.

Well, by this point you must be all willing to know the addresses of his blogs. The first older one is ” Movie segments to assess grammar goals”.  It cointains a series of movie segments and activities to assess or practice grammar points through fun, challenging exercises. The new one, which is only one week old, is “Movie segments for Warm-ups and follow-ups”. The lesson plans found here are to be used to brainstorm, warm up, follow up, and activate schemata, preparing the students for the topic that will be discussed in class.

Well, that’s all for now. I hope you find it as useful as I had and please Claudio, keep up the great job you are doing. If you have a good lesson plan to share don’t hesitate to contact me or Claudio,  and we would be glad to publish it in our blogs.

Posted on August 7, 2009, in Lesson Plans, Resources for tesl/tefl, web 20 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Sabrina, what a kind post. I would love to share your material wih my readers so that they can get acquainted your inspiring blog. I’m sure we’ll talk more often. Congratulations on this great material here.

  2. Thanks for the great links!

  3. Great links.

    If you search my blog you’ll find lesson plans for smallville, corner gas, prison break, lost, and An Inconvenient Truth.. plus one or two more that I’ve probably forgotten about.

    • Thank you EFL Geek. I really like your blog. However, it’s been a long time since your last post. I hope you will go on posting. Your posts were really helpful to me.

  4. Yeah I know I havne’t been putting out quality (nor quantity) content for some time. Kind of lost my teaching mojo.

  5. Hi,… nice to visit here. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Hi Sabrina,
    I’m still waiting for your OK on the post, OK? See you.

  1. Pingback: Monsters Inc. (Present Simple and Present Continuous) « Sabrina’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

