Lesson Plan: World Financial Crisis

If you haven’t heard recently about the financial crisis, you are definitely not living in the Earth planet. Every newspaper, magazine, television programme and the like is dealing with this issue. Everybody seems to be an expert in economy nowadays, or at least they would like to be. As our classes do take place in this planet, why not take this popular topic to the classroom? There are plenty of articles, videos and recordings about it somewhere there on the net. There are even lesson plans! For example, if you have students from higher levels a good option would be this ready-made lesson plan from In Company website.

However, it is very difficult to find an article suitable for lower levels. After surfing the net for a long time, I have finally discovered one written by CBBC Newsround and prepared with it a lesson plan: cash_crisis. It deals with the current world financial crisis using very simple language making it accesible for language learners. It is also a good revision of verbs related to money.

Hope you enjoy it and don’t forget to leave as a comment if you happen to use the lesson plan or if you have more ideas to deal with the topic.

Posted on October 8, 2008, in Lesson Plans, Resources for tesl/tefl and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I STUMBLED UPON YOUR BLOG SEARCHING FOR INFO ON THE ECONOMIC CRISIS FOR MY STUDENTS…I ENJOYED GOING THROUGH YOUR SITE…I WAS WONDERING IF YOU HAVE ANY INFO ON THE SUBJECT FOR 15 YEAR OLDS…WITH QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS…
    I WOULD APPRECIATE A REPLY…
    THANKS

    • Hi dear Effie,
      Thanks for your kind comment. I’m afraid I have only done this with my students about this topic. I am an english as a foreign language teacher. Could you be more specific about what exactly you need. Maybe I can help.
      Kind regards

  2. wow…thanks for the quick reply…
    Well, I, too am an english as a foreign language teacher in Athens Greece.
    My students will be sitting for the ECCE oral exam at the end of May…I found out that they are asking questions on the economic crisis..{not that i agree}…anyway though…I have been trying to find something easy for them to undersatnd…but in vain… Basically all the topics on line are difficult for them…so stumbled across your site…So what I am basically asking and would like is a passage / article on the economic crisis that my students will be able to understand without having the need to luse the dictionary…with possible questions and answers…
    It was just a thought…Either way..thanks for your prompt reply…I’m grateful….

  3. Maybe you should adapt what you’ve found on the internet. I sometimes do that with my students. I paraphrase the things they would find difficult to understand or sometimes I even do away with whole paragraphs that are not essential for the understanding of the text as a whole. Have you done this before? Have you tried this site http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/? Maybe, you find something there. Let me know how it’s going. It’s great to share material.
    Lots of kisses from Argentina

  4. Yes… I have done this before…I usually do this…
    I’ve found some articles…. I’ll just go through and highlight the basics…
    Thanks again…

    1:08am….

  5. Dear Effie, I’ve just found this blogpost you may find useful. Have a look at it: http://kalinago.blogspot.com/2010/05/cartoon-videos-in-business-and.html
    Kisses

Leave a Reply

