Downloading efl/esl books!!!!!

Updated 28/03/08

I have published here a link to a Russian page where you could download lot of EFL/ESL material.  In the webpage there was a downloading agreement that reads:

Download Agreement

By agreeing to our Terms and Conditions, you are stating that you are downloading this material for familiarizing purposes only, and you agree to delete it afterwards and purchase the hard copy.

Because of this, I thougt it was legal and I saw no harm in downloading books for trial purposes before you actually buy them.  However, I have just received an email from the  author of one of the books which was available there for download asking me to delete  the link on the following grounds: “I’ve no doubt you thought that the ‘download agreement’ might make it OK, but the people who own the copyright for those materials (the publishers and authors) would have to agree as well, and they haven’t been asked.  I not only found links to my books there, but lots of other authors as well.” As I found it very reasonable I am editing this post now. Hope you can understand.

 

Posted on March 12, 2008, in Resources for tesl/tefl and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Another hit on the helpful and practical teaching practices.

    Sometimes I forget that how we, teachers get to our final project involves many tools, even online tools, that would probably help other teachers. You always cite your sources, and I appreciate the links to the tools you are using, in this case textbook evaluation.

    Today I thought, you have the DIY (Do It Yourself) process in describing your teaching practice down to a fine art. The name “DIY Diva” is taken, but I think you should be known as DIY De Vita!

    Interesting stories with simple directions are your DIY De Vita hallmark.

    I enjoy reading your stories, as you explain what you are completing and how you are doing it. I think anyone could easily follow your directions.

  2. Thanks Sheryl! You’ve definitely made my day! Lol. I’m really glad that my explanations are useful and clear. It motivates me to go on doing this. I think that web 2.0 has made things easier to share what we are doing and learn from each other. And that’s something I love doing: learning, teaching, sharing knowledge and debating.

Leave a Reply

