To Twit or not to Twit?

After a long time I have come back to real life. I have been away on holidays during January and it has taken me a great time to realise that my vacation time is over. Now, that I’m fully back I can start posting in my blog more often.

Today, I will talk about a very interesting and useful tool: Twitter. I have been told about Twitter long ago, but when I entered the page and saw that you have just got to answer the question “What are you doing?”; I thought “How useless”, closed the window and forgot about it.

However, the word Twitter started to appear quite often in my delicious network. Twitter, Twitter and Twitter everywhere. Everyone in the field of education and technology seemed to be giving it a try, and I could be no exception.

I have just been using Twitter for two days and I have to confess that I have become a Twitter-addict (does this word exist already?) Twitter is a great way of getting the latest news in the field that you are interested in. Apart from that, you can receive instant help from people around the world by just typing a questions.

I have tried it and it worked for me. I wanted to know how I can read and post to Twitter through Skype. I posted the question. One of my followers repeated the question and one of her followers provided me the answer after just a few minutes. Would you like to know the answer? Here it is. Very simple:

1) Add the contact twitter4skype to your skype

2) Send this message to the contact via chat:

account/ (shift+enter)

the name of your twitter account (shift+enter)

the password of your twitter account (shift+enter)

NOTE: Make sure that you send everything in the same message.

You should receive a message that reads twitter4skype registration complete. Now you can start receiving and posting Twitter messages.

I have realised that the key to Twitter is networking so if you are interested you can start following me. I’m sabridv in Twitter. See you there.

Posted on February 14, 2008, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl, web 20 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I agree with your initial analysis. Since I joined Twitter, I have learned so much about online interactions and web applications. Don’t be discouraged if people don’t respond to a question. It happens. I usually restate the question in a different way, or direct message someone who might help.

    Occasionally things are pretty quiet around the network, and sometimes it seems like we are all out washing our clothes together, but separate. If that metaphor makes sense. The occasional aloneness concerned me at first, but now I know it is just part of the collaboration cycle.

    Good luck and have fun!

  2. Dear samccoy Thanks for the comment. I’m really learning a lot from twitter and I totally agree with your metaphor. I sometimes feel like that but it sometimes is just a question of time and you get the answer you need somewhere.

  3. Hello Sabri!
    Networks are really incredible! I found your blog in Eliana’s delicious!
    And after reading your post I opened a Twitter account! I will try it and let you know how it works for me.
    See you,
    Silvia

  4. Hi Silvia!
    I’m following you in Twitter. Remember that you should try to establish a network in Twitter to make it work. I think that “The more the better” is the clue here.
    Thanks for the comment. Kind regards.

  5. You should join the SMiELT08 on twemes
    http://twemes.com/smielt08

    Just type #smielt08 in Twitter when you want to channel your message to Smielt🙂
    See you there.

  6. Oh Thank you Barbara! I have already seen smielt twemes but i didn’t know how to add myself. Should have asked before. Thanks for the great tip.
    Sabrina

  7. I first heard about twitter a year ago and it’s taken me that long to bring myself to find out what it’s all about, for the same reasons as you mention. In the meanwhile I think it can be pretty useful, especially when doing things like collaborating and organizing. And I’m sure I’ll find many other uses for it. tweet tweet🙂

  8. Hi Illya. I’m following you in Twitter so we’ll keep in touch. Kind regards

Leave a Reply

