Social Media

Hi and welcome you all to my blog. In this blog I will try to write about my impressions and experience with different social media tools and their application to teaching while I take part in the EVO08 and SMIELT08 (social media in English language teaching) course. But what is social media?

From my point of view, it has to do with sharing, connecting and learning from each other, which is exactly what we are doing in this course. There are many tools available on the net that help us to achieve this aim, that is to say they allow us to publish information and they give other people the possibility of modifying it. Some of them are wordpress, googlereader, delicious, etc. When you use these tools you stop being just a reader of websites and you start interacting with the information. You can modify, add information, share the webpages you’ve found useful with other users, among other things. I belive that we all benefit from using these tools because a network in which people help each other, share experiences and knowledge starts being formed.

Posted on January 19, 2008, in Reflections on Tefl/tesl, web 20 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Gabriela Sellart

    Hi Sabrina, I’m still amazed at this new way of learning together with teachers (and not only EFL teachers) all over the world. It’s so motivating.

  2. Hi Gabriela, I totally agree with you. I think it is a very rewarding and enriching experience and I feel accompanied by other people who have the same doubts or the same interests that I have.
    Looking forward to learning with and from you.
    Sabrina

  3. I really liked this:
    “When you use these tools you stop being just a reader of websites and you start interacting with the information.”
    You are so right! That interaction with what we are reading is exactly what we want our students to do, isn’t it?

  4. Hi Sabrina, I agree with you too. This is what I love about these EVO sessions (not just this one), the contact you make with others can turn out to be long-lasting, if you choose. I really think it’s a matter of each individual how much they decide to profit from social media.

  5. Patricia Glogowski

    Yes, it’s pretty amazing, isn’t it? “I’m still amazed at this new way of learning together with teachers (and not only EFL teachers) all over the world. It’s so motivating.” The best thing is that every year your circle of professional friends and mentors grows and you get to know each other better.

  6. I totally agree Patricia. It’s really great to get to know new people with your own interests.

  7. Hello and welcome to the online village. I got here via Twitter.
    If you are in Buenos Aires like me, chances are we might meet one day. From information to people and the other way about, right?
    All best,
    fceblog

  8. Hi Claudia, Great to hear from you and thank you for the warm welcome. I have visited your blog some time ago and it is great. I found lots of interesting things.
    Sabrina

Leave a Reply

