Lesson Plan: “A reflection on Haiti Crisis”


It’s been a long time since my last post because I’ve been away on holidays. But now I’m back in Buenos Aires and about to start a new-working-year. Trying to find a topic to talk about in my in-company classes, Haiti crisis came to my mind. It is  an issue that is currently everywhere. For that reason, I have prepared a lesson plan to reflect about the gap that exists between developing and third world countries and how this affects their ability to react when a crisis, a natural disaster, etc strikes them. I have based my lesson plan on an article from the New York Times called “Earth Science Meets Social Science” and a video called “Haiti’s Legacy of Environmental Disaster”. Here you will find the lesson plan: Feeling Vulnerable Lesson Plan.

I hope you find it useful and feel free to leave any comments, suggestions, criticisms or whatever you feel like it.

Posted on February 2, 2010, in Lesson Plans, Resources for tesl/tefl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Dear teacher Sabrina,

    I came across you one of my friends’blog and liked the work you done..I just retweeted your blog post and your work at twitter with username “marmaraelt” .I will add you to my website’s blogroll..

    keep doing these great works..

    Best wishes

    Özcan

    • Dear Özcan,
      Thanks a lot for your kind words. I’m already following you in Twitter. I found your blog very interesting, so it would be a great honour to appear in your blogroll. If you happen to use the lesson plan in your class, please do share your experience with us.
      Lest’s keep on learning and sharing together.
      Kisses,
      Sabrina

  2. If I had a chance to your lesson plan my class or any teaching environment,it would my pleasure to share my experience..I added you lesson plan to my teaching resources..

    Cheers,
    Özcan

  3. Hello Sabrina!

    Just found my way to your blog from Kalinago English – and impressed with this lesson plan. It’s very thorough and I tip my hat to you for tackling this issue. I imagine it’s quite tricky to broach subjects like this in the language classroom, and it’s not something I have done very much of in my own teaching.

    I thought you might be interested in lookin at this article from The Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/jan/15/forces-working-against-haiti

    There’s also an interesting post over at Lindsay Clandfield’s blog: http://sixthings.net/2010/01/25/six-ways-for-teachers-to-address-the-haitian-crisis/

    Hope you had a good lesson with this!

    All the best

    Mike

    • Thank you Mike for the kind words and thank you for sharing those posts. I have had a look at your blog and it looks really interesting. I have added it to my greader. Let’s go on sharing and learning together.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

